Untitled!

(Every morning I check my phone the first thing I see is news and it’s never a good one. It’s always about murder or assault, of my feelings, my hopes and of me. Meet me, I am a kashmiri)

That worn out, hapless, petrified being, that turned down soul you see, that’s me.

I can’t speak the word I know, I can’t seek the answer to unknown

I wonder if I’m even alive when I can’t be who I want to be.

I’m surrounded by an enemy who’s faking to be friendly;

He’s killing me silently and asks, if that’s okay with me!

I try to object he shoots me;

And when I let go, he provokes me and then “shoots me”!

I guess my life to him is paltry; or threatening, may be!

He blinds me so that I can’t see.

The irony is, he comes to see me just to make sure I’m not blinded only partly!

I’m inside my home holding my baby an unknown bullet pierces me through;

Only if I got a chance to say, “wait, I’m not guilty”!

I’m a lad in my early teens I’m off to play I tell my mom;

barely do I know or her, this moment won’t ever return!

I’m a father, a husband, a mother, a son, the only solace to my family,

Why doesn’t he leave me alone for I really want to be!

He’s eyeing my land and I can’t take that

For all I can see is his ample greed.

I know someday, somehow, there will be an end to this decree

But the night has been so long holding on to hopes is not easy!

Sometimes I have this shuddersome thought

“what if I won’t be free, what if I won’t ever be me!”

3 thoughts on “Untitled!

Leave a comment