Rahmatuk Rood (Rains that bring Divine Mercy)

Sitting home in isolation and having no one around to talk to, I felt a bit depressed for the past two days. The news about coronavirus coming from all over the world and now from my own state too is worrying and can send anyone into depression. So I decided to stay away from media. But there is this thing with bad news, it catches you no matter where you go.

I heard a few more suspects of Covid-19 have been found positive in our valley and worse than that was the news that people are gathering outside shops and religious places despite being told time and again not to. When there is dire need of Social Distancing, people are still roaming around. I was so upset hearing this untill today afternoon when it started to rain. I was so relieved by the thought that atleast some people may now stay home because of the rain.

Ever since my childhood, I have been hearing this term, “Rahmatuk Rood” from my elders, which means rain that brings divine mercy. Quite unusual though, today I really felt like this rain is the rain of mercy. Firstly because like I said earlier, people might stay indoors and secondly because I think Allah wants us to make dua, lots and lots of dua. There is also a hadeeth that whenever there is a rainfall we should make dua as it is answered Instantly. I hope He listens to our prayers and saves us from this pandemic. I have tried to put this feeling into a poem. Here.

We have many names for the rain

Here, in our land

A land that has witnessed heaps of grief and yet,

It stands tall.

In times of uncertainty,

When the hearts sink and the hope seems far

Whenever there are showers

We raise our hands to ask from our Lord

The strength to bear it all,

Endure whatever may befall.

For we have faith,

The Lord listens at once when the rains fall

When the sky weeps and the believers call

He hearkens to every single cry

Answers there and then every single call.